Sugar Land - Missouri City Edition | October 2022



Candidates and information for general elections


DATES TO KNOW Oct. 24 First day of early voting

Voters in Fort Bend County can vote at any of the county’s polling centers during both the early-voting period and on Election Day. A list of polling locations is published at Proposition language has been lightly edited for space. SOURCES: TEXAS SECRETARY OF STATE, FORT BEND COUNTYCOMMUNITY IMPACT WHERE TO VOTE

Nov. 8 Election Day Nov. 8 Last day to receive ballot by mail (or Nov. 9 if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7 p.m. at location of election on Election Day)

Oct. 28 Last day to apply for ballot by mail (received, not postmarked) Nov. 4 Last day of early voting

Only candidates in contested elections are included.


R Republican

D Democrat

L Libertarian

G Green

*Incumbent STATE Governor

Missouri City At-Large Position 1 Sonya Brown-Marshall Vashaundra Edwards* Missouri City At-Large Position 2 Bruce Zaborowski Lynn Clouser* FORT BEND ISD VOTER APPROVAL TAX RATE ELECTION Proposition A Ratifying the ad valorem tax rate of $1.2101 for the current year, a rate that will result in an increase of 7.31 percent in maintenance and operations tax revenue as compared to the preceding year, which is an additional $47.66 million. LAMAR CISD BOND Proposition A Issuance of $1,310,611,605 of bonds to construct, acquire, renovate and equip school buildings, for purchasing necessary sites for school buildings, for purchasing new school buses, for retrotting school buses with emergency,

safety, or security equipment, and for purchasing or retrotting vehicles to be used for emergency, safety, or security purposes. Proposition B Issuance of $189,241,920 of bonds for constructing, renovating, acquiring, and equipping career and technology facilities, including a district-wide career and technology center and renovating existing career and technology facilities, and purchasing the necessary sites. Proposition C Issuance of $16,769,775 of bonds for acquiring or updating district technology equipment. Proposition D Issuance of $4,978,501 of bonds for constructing, renovating, acquiring, and equipping improvements for Traylor Stadium. Proposition E Issuance of $194,904,700 of bonds for constructing, acquiring, and equipping a second district stadium and purchasing the necessary site.

R Wayne Christian* D Luke Warford L Jaime Andres Diez G Hunter Crow Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3 R Debra Lehrmann* D Erin A. Nowell L Thomas Edward Oxford Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9 R Evan Young* D Julia Maldonado Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5 R Scott Walker* D Dana Human Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6 R Jesse F. McClure III* D Robert Johnson Texas House, District 26 R Jacey Jetton* D Daniel Lee Texas House, District 27 R Sohrab Gilani D Ron Reynolds* Texas House, District 28 R Gary Gates*

D Nelvin J. Adriatico FEDERAL U.S. House of Representatives, District 7 R Johnny Teague D Lizzie Fletcher* U.S. House of Representatives, District 22 R Troy Nehls* D Jamie Jordan L Joseph LeBlanc LOCAL Fort Bend County judge R Trever J. Nehls D KP George* Fort Bend County Precinct 2 commissioner R Melissa M. Wilson D Grady Prestage* Fort Bend County Precinct 4

R Greg Abbott* D Beto O’Rourke L Mark Tippetts G Delilah Barrios Lieutenant governor

R Dan Patrick* D Mike Collier L Shanna Steele Attorney general R Ken Paxton* D Rochelle Mercedes Garza L Mark Ash Comptroller of public accounts R Glenn Hegar* D Janet T. Dudding L V. Alonzo Echevarria-Garza Commissioner of the General Land Oce R Dawn Buckingham D Jay Kleberg G Alfred Molison Jr. Commissioner of agriculture

commissioner R Ray Aguilar D Dexter McCoy Missouri City mayor Robin Elackatt* Yolanda Ford

R Sid Miller* D Susan Hays Railroad commissioner

BRAND BUSINESS your WITH STICKIES • Exclusive front cover placement • Targeted mailbox delivery • Competitive pricing




Powered by